Why is Arizona So Hot?


Why Is It So Hot In Arizona?Arizona heat is an unfortunate fact of life that makes life very miserable during the hot months. Between May and September, it is very uncomfortably hot in Arizona. Arizona is obviously a desert, but why? Why is it so hot here? There is a scientific reason why Arizona gets so hot.

The Laguna Mountains in California is the first barrier of cool air coming from the Pacific Ocean. Phoenix is situated in a valley, surrounded by mountains. Because of the updraft of heat, clouds and rain rarely make it into the valley. There are times when you can literally see a ring of clouds around the entire valley because the high pressure of the hot air is keeping the clouds at bay.

Arizona is located on the lee sides (AKA down-wind) of the mountains. When rain reaches the mountains, the precipitation rises up the mountains, cools and condenses into clouds. The rain clouds bring precipitation to the up-wind side of the mountains. When the air descends on the down-side of the mountains, it compacts and heats up. By the time the clouds reach the down-wind side of the mountains, the air is wrung drier than it was on the up-wind side of the mountains.

Because of the hot weather, there is almost constantly high pressure over Arizona. Under high pressure, the air sinks and clouds cannot form. Because of the lack of rain in Arizona, the humidity is very low. Dry air heats up fast because there is no humidity in the air to absorb the heat.

Urban Heat Islands

Arizona was already a hot desert before people settled here, but the development has made urban areas in Arizona even hotter. Urban Heat Islands (UHI) are areas that experience consistently higher temperatures than surrounding areas because of a greater retention of heat by buildings, concrete and asphalt. Phoenix is a prime example of an UHI.

According to this article (PDF), the Phoenix UHI is “jeopardizing the sustainability of Phoenix”. The article states in 2010, there were seven days with a recorded low temperature over ninety degrees at Sky Harbor Airport; on these same days the low temperature in Queen Creek, in the southeast Valley periphery, was consistently ten degrees lower. Basically, the urban areas are normally ten degrees hotter than the outlying areas. Ten degrees might not sound like a lot, but when you’re talking about 100 degrees vs 110 degrees it’s a hefty difference.

I like to think of the Urban Heat Island effect as a heat bubble. It’s a dome of self-contained hot air that doesn’t let much actual weather in. When weather does make it through the heat bubble, it’s usually very severe and causes dust storms and poor air quality. At the time of this article, I cannot recall the last time I saw rain but I’ve seen plenty of dust storms.

What Arizona Hot Weather Is Like

It’s difficult to explain what the Arizona heat feels like. Unless you’ve felt it,  you won’t truly understand it. The uncomfortable heat starts around late-April to early-May and ends late-September to early-October. You can count on half the year feeling miserable.

For me, I start getting uncomfortable and irritable at 105 degrees. Above 105, it doesn’t matter what the number is because it’s just HOT. So, let’s describe a hot summer day in Arizona!

It’s 6:00 AM, and the alarm clock is buzzing. The sun is already up because it rises at 5:00 AM in the summer. I wake up and start a pot of coffee. I really hate to drink hot fluids in the summer, but I like coffee. The trick is to not go outside until I’ve had my cup of coffee, because once the heat hits my skin, I don’t want anything hot.

I walk outside to check the mail or get the paper, and it’s already uncomfortable. The temperature is in the upper-80’s to lower-90’s, and it’s not even 7:00 AM yet. I can feel the heat radiating from the concrete and asphalt beneath my feet and the sun is beating down on me from above. I run back inside to the air conditioning, which runs all the time. I have two air conditioning units and pay approximately $400-$500 per month on my electricity bill. My thermostats are set to 79-81, and NEVER goes below 79. I just can’t afford that.

I take a shower, but I can’t get any cold water. I turn on the cold tap, but only hot water comes out. I realize it’s going to be another one of those days where everything will be hot and uncomfortable, and it puts me in a bad mood. The shower is too damned hot and I have no way to cool it off.

I drive to work and park in the parking lot, where it will sit in the hot sun all day. I spend all day inside at work in the air conditioning. When it’s time to go home, the sun is still shining bright and it has heated up outside. As I walk out, the heat from above is even more intense and burns my skin. Not the sun burn type of burning, but the burning sensation you get when you’re standing too close to an open flame. As I walk by buildings and structures, I feel the heat emanating from it as if I were walking by a heater.

As I touch the door handle to open my car door, the handle is too hot to touch. I have to use a towel to open the door. As my car door swings open, a gush of hot 130 degree air hits my face. I’m reminded of the sensation of opening a hot oven. I take a deep breath, hold it and enter the vehicle. I quickly start it up, crank up the air conditioning and roll down my windows to blow out the hot air. I have to sit there for a couple of minutes while the temperature inside my car reaches the ambient outside temperature of 110 degrees.

Finally, it cools down to 110 degrees and I’m able to roll up the windows and I can start to feel trickles of air conditioned air coming out of the vents. I reach up to touch the steering wheel, but it burns my hand. I have to drive with a towel on my steering wheel while the air conditioning struggles to cool it down.

On the drive home, the sun is lower in the sky and it’s right in my face. There are no canopies of trees to drive under to shield the sun away. The sun is UP and SHINING until it goes below the horizon or a mountain. Although the air conditioning is cranked, I can feel the heat from my windows. Even my tinted windows aren’t blocking the 110+ degree heat outside.

Once I get home, I decide to go for a swim in the pool. I have to wear flip-flops out to the pool because the concrete is too hot to walk on barefoot. Wearing my open-toed shoes, I can feel the heat on my toes and it literally burns.

I quickly discover the pool is hot, too. There is no refreshment because I feel like I just jumped into a giant bowl of soup. Well, this sure sucks. Maybe a cold shower will cool me down. Yes, it would cool me down but there are no cold showers in the summer. I find relief by getting wet hand towels and putting them in the refrigerator and wiping off with them. The refrigerator is the only thing that is cold. With the house air conditioner set at 79, it’s still not refreshing because heat emanates from the walls and windows. The only true cool air is directly under the vent.

It is like this day-in and day-out for six months out of the year in Arizona. I’m always angry and irritated because of the heat. You might hear people say “it’s a dry heat”. Yes, it’s a dry heat but the dry air is what makes it so hot in Arizona. I would welcome humidity because the moisture is sucked from my body from living in the desert.

Arizona heat is very unpleasant and it will suck the life out of you. The only escape from the summer heat is leaving Arizona.

No Arizona provides inside knowledge of life in Arizona

Stay connected!

No Arizona provides information about Arizona and reveals the truth about life in the desert based on facts and observations.

Want to know more about Arizona that you can’t find elsewhere?

Like us on facebook!

Follow us on Twitter!

Follow us on Tumblr!

Receive updates to your inbox by signing up for email updates to get the latest articles!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

72 thoughts on “Why is Arizona So Hot?

  1. kristasta says:

    Omg every one of your posts leaving me laughing! I love your comedic writing style and completely relate to your recap of life in Arizona… For me it was love-hate and finally love won over. I really appreciate your well researched postings. I can relate to your coffee in the AM… same here… in the summer, up at 5:00, coffee pot brewing… get the morning walk in before 6 or you will die. ha. Cheers…

    • No Arizona says:

      Thanks for reading! I hope it paints a picture for those who have never experienced the heat. Ugh, we’re only two months away from the hot summer! I’ve already started hydrating! As for coffee, I never had frozen or iced coffee until I came to Arizona. Once that initial heat hits me, I just can’t have hot coffee.

  2. Noto Arizona says:

    I seriously think Arizona should be de-populated and then made a free zone for wild animals so wild horses and all other wild animals native to North America can breed and roam freely across the inhospitable desert landscape.

    • No Arizona says:

      Well said! I think even wild animals would have difficulty surviving!

    • The only way to beat that summer heat is to go up in elevation. Head up to Flagstaff or any other higher elevation spot in the state will be a lot more bearable than the hellholes they call Phoenix, Yuma or Tucson! I would personally say muggy hot places in the south are just as horrible as a really hot dry heat. You walk out sticky and dyin’ of heat stroke!

    • A says:

      Good luck trying to keep them contained from getting into other states.

  3. Micky says:

    oh come on, it’s not that bad. I’m good till 115, which it will be tomorrow. I love the year round wonderful weather. I come from Ohio where there is way to much cold and snow. I don’t care if I ever see another snowflake. If the heat gets to bad, take a drive up north where temps are 20 degrees lower.

    • No Arizona says:

      Thanks for reading! From one extreme (snow), to another (heat)! Coming from a mild climate that sits somewhere in between hot and cold, I find Arizona weather to be miserable. It is great you have found the plus side to life in Arizona, but it’s just not a good fit for me.

  4. James says:

    There is just no way around it,its hot as hell and there isnt anything to do, welcome to paradise boys and girls,are you kicking yourselves for that wise desision of relocating here!

  5. UnArmored says:

    Ha ha ha…Didnt realize it was so bad here. I grew up in the 110 heat. I came here (To this site.) because of my growing concerns about lack of clouds. I know AZ is hot, and Clouds dont change that much, but usually you will see at least a couple Clouds somewhere. For the past three weeks there hasnt been a single one in sight. I know we are in a valley, and about hot air rising, but usually after a couple days you will see a few somewhere. A Penny for your thoughts? BTW: I have seen the ring of clouds your referring to. Awesome sight to behold, almost like the eye of a hurricane. (P.S. Not even this has been seen recently.)

    • No Arizona says:

      You’re right, there have been ZERO clouds for a while now! We’ve had a lot of high pressure systems hanging over Arizona, so I believe that’s a huge factor. Rain is a good thing, and I literally can’t remember the last rain cloud!

      I’m curious, do you plan to always live in Arizona? I’m always interested in hearing from native Arizonans.

  6. Undisclosed says:

    Its all about iced coffee in the summer.

  7. leah says:

    So true and so funny. I found myself laughing a few time because I can so relate. My husband and I are stuck here for his job until we can transfer. We drive back to California to get his daughter every other weekend and while we are there we remember how much we miss trees and grass. It got hot where we used to live but not unbearable like AZ.

  8. leah says:

    All I did was search for why is it so hot in AZ on google and got this awesome page. You don’t realize how much you hate it until you come from a state with nice weather, snow and ocean an hour drive in either direction from where I lived before. Oh ocean how I miss you.

  9. RcRacer says:

    Moved here in Feb 2009 from Seattle Wa, moving back to Seattle in March of 2013. Just can’t do the summers anymore! LoL

  10. rayann says:

    Arizona is awesome mmmmmhhmm

  11. MountainDweller says:

    Just informing everyone….Many places in Arizona are not unbearably hot. The record (that’s right….record) high for Flagstaff is 97. Flagstaff is also the 5th snowiest city in the U.S. I have lived in Central and Northern AZ for nearly 30 years. I have seen it snow in June and as early as September. In fact, many people move out of Flagstaff and Eastern AZ because it is too cold and head South to Prescott or other warmer communities. Their climate in Prescott is 10-15 degrees warmer than Flagstaff but still 15-20 degrees cooler than Phoenix. Just thought I would bring this up.

    • No Arizona says:

      Definitely nicer in Flagstaff, except for the hippies. Flagstaff is better than Phoenix, but I’d take the Appalachians any day! Thanks for your input!

      • MountainDweller says:

        Every place has their weirdos….and yes Flagstaff is no exception. But I’ll take peace mongering hippies any day over the other extreme. Never been to the Appalachians but I would like to visit there some day. I couldn’t live there, though, because unlike Arizona, escaping extreme cold and humidity on the East Coast, or Northwest for that matter, isn’t as simple as a 1-hour drive down the mountain and a 30-40 degree difference like we have here. To each their own I guess. 😉

      • No Arizona says:

        Well, you’re very lucky to experience REAL weather up in Flag!

    • Rachel says:

      You are right the weather 10 to 15 degrease hotter than flatlands

    • Flagstaff is nice in the summer time but really expensive too expensive to raise a family on the kind of wages seen in Arizona. I would say the best balance between heat and cold is somewhere like Sierra Vista which is around 4600ft in elevation pretty far south in latitude and winters aren’t really cold like Flagstaff and summers seems to be a good 10-15 degrees cooler than Phoenix. The city barely tops 100 in the summer for maybe a couple weeks in June. Most days in the summer are around 90-95 the coldest at night in the dead of winter 20’s but most winter days are 60s and 70s with nights into the 30s or 40s. Nowhere is perfect and I can say the weather in most of this country is very far from it. At lease Arizona has a very low risk of natural disasters.

  12. TheTram says:

    Awesome article, chuckled while reading because living there for 41 years. I thought that was just normal summer living. Oh how wrong I was…

  13. thuy says:

    how about winter in arizona

  14. seth says:

    Hey man. I just wanted to leave you a comment and let you know I’ve read a lot of your blogs recently. I just moved to north phoenix to attend MMI and I have learned a lot from what you’ve written. Keep up the good work.

  15. Aurora says:

    I lived in Arizona for five years and I hated it. I’m very pale skinned so it was hell. I’m glad I got out of there.
    One time, I was stuck outside in 118 degree F weather on the 4th of July, and I will never forget it. Even at 10-11 PM the temperature was still above 100 degree F.

  16. Jeanette says:

    Oh goodness I never thought any of this was true until I came here. I am 5 months in from Florida. Why make a ridiculous move? I don’t even know, I fell in love. It makes us do crazy things. I cannot adapt! It’s so hot I wake up sweaty I shower and I’m STILL sweaty I walk outside and more sweat! I’m dirty all day! Ugh I applaud you guys who lived here your whole life!

  17. Mitzi says:

    How do people live here??? Was my question the few hours I spent there while visiting my boyfriend in Eloy Az!!! It was the worse heat I’ve ever felt. I live in sunny San Diego 💙💛, and USED to complain about the weather here in the summer 90 98 at its worse but after my experience this weekend at Arizona I will NEVER again complain about San Diego’s weather. I will never be able to live there hot weather gets me in a bad mood. I loved seeing my boyfriend after so long but I don’t think I will be back to visit 😭:| that weather it’s NOT FOR ME!!!! As I was driving back at around 8 pm I couldn’t believe it was still 105 degrees I just couldn’t wait to get back home, as I was getting closer to San Diego the temperature was dropping, when I got here at around 12 midnight it was 65 degrees, oh how happy I was :):):). I hated my visit ONLY because of the unbearable heat, it was HORRIBLE!!!!! How do people manage to live there with that horrible weather!!!! I love SAN DIEGO!!!!
    (Right now its 70 degrees over here and with lots of clouds in the sky ☺) loving it 👌👌
    I love your article and just how you explain it that’s just exactly how I felt!!!!

  18. Jeff says:

    Then why the hell has it gone from the 20th largest US city to the 5th since about 1980? Must have SOMETHING going for it.

    • oopsa daisy says:

      ill tell you why cause people cant stop having babies! I moved here in 2008 and I still cant stand the heat!

  19. Todd says:

    I just don’t see the appeal of the Valley of the Sun. It’s hot at least 5-6 months out of the year and the desert is ugly and depressing. Too much brown. Even the green we have (what little there is of it) is more of a greenish brown hybrid. You can always tell when you’re flying over the valley. All you have to do is look out the window and there it is: a seemingly unending carpet of dirt and rock without a single hint of green in sight. Would move if I could but family obligations keep me here.

  20. […] was officially frozen out of Indianapolis.   The desert is the opposite kind of suffering with its inferno atmosphere in which it’s too fucking miserable to do anything outside and even the air conditioner labors […]

  21. Matt says:

    I have lived in the Phoenix area for the past 2 years and I’ve HATED IT from day 1. The Summer nights are unbearable to me. I mean, 97 degrees at 10pm is just ridiculous!! At 3am you may be lucky enough to have it get down to 93…maybe… I ask my wife almost daily “When can we live this sh*thole?!” She says we will leave soon, but for me it cannot be soon enough.
    The so-called “Winter” here is pretty much just mid-Spring in my book.. Natives to Phoenix are wearing a coat when it is 64 degrees..(what a joke).. I literally own 2 sweatshirts and really light jacket for the Dec/Jan/Feb mornings at 5am when its 42 degrees..(still not all that cold to me.) In the 2 years I have been here I don’t recall a daytime high that has ever been less than 58 or 59 degrees, and that may have happened 2 or 3 days in December when it actually rained that day, thus keeping the ever present Sun from showing it’s face in the sky..

    I long for the day I can leave the Phoenix area behind… FOR GOOD!

    By the way, GREAT ARTICLE! Couldn’t have described it better myself..

    • Doug says:

      Dude, you don’t want the humidity. Trust me. Having lived in both Arizona and Houston, yes, Arizona gets hotter but the humidity is so, so much more uncomfortable than dry heat. There is just no way about it.

      • No Arizona says:

        I suppose it’s personal preference. Houston has the worst humidity! I prefer humidity over the stinging heat. Where I live now, the humidity is only for a couple of months, and then the seasons change!

      • Em Eazy says:

        I lived in Houston for about 15 months before moving to Phoenix, so I know what to expect in Texas. Yes, Houston is much more humid, but the scorching temperatures don’t last for 8 months out of the year like they do in Phoenix.. Plus, Houston has GRASS and GREEN TREES/BUSHES all around.. I can’t explain how sick I am of seeing brown, dusty landscapes all around the “Valley”… Houston is not my first choice, but it’s definitely not on the bottom of my list like Phoenix is..

  22. Trying2leave says:

    It’s not the weather. I think if you have a good situation, you can live anywhere. It’s the people and the jobs. I rarely see anyone I’d term as “normal”. Most of the men have red faces and necks, covered in tattoos, face piercings. Most don’t work. You have people here retired at 40. You wonder how they do it, because they aren’t all rich, but they don’t want to work. Their hobbies are motorcycles, bars, casinos, dirt biking, clubs, vacations and “BBQ”. Just new places to get drunk. Nothing cerebral. If you don’t get drunk, they think there is something wrong with you. Then there are the Fake Rich. Leasing cars to look important. There are tons of McMansions here. Women competing and showing off their designer purses. Lots of people here have a social life of going to doctors and medical offices.

    The lack of jobs. I don’t get where all of these people can afford new cars, new homes, vacations, going out. It seems like employers here try to get people as cheap as they can get them. So how can these people afford this?The airport is always full.
    The lack of jobs is terrible. I am sorry I moved here, and I came here for work. I find the people rude, unfriendly, and most of them do not work.

    • Kas says:

      I ask that you consider that there are other areas of the USA that are extremely uncomfortable and much more life threatening. My family moved to a Phoenix suburb from North Dakota (we are both 32). Where the skin on your hands actually freezes to the gas pump and rips off sometimes. As for jobs and salaries, I worked as a director of nursing in ND and made half of what I do now as a registered nurse in Arizona. And that was less than a year ago. My husband did construction and was an electrician in ND. Since we moved here he has started his own handyman business and makes almost 4 times as much as he did before. There are so many things to be grateful for. And our 4 kids get to play outside all year now. Not to mention that the cost of living is less than half of where we came from. It amazes me how many people complain about living in a place that is actually coveted by so many. Snow is great, 72 degrees is ideal. But I think anyone who whines and complains about Arizona needs to go sit somewhere that gets to less than 50 below for at least a year and see how pouty they feel for themselves after that. Learning to be content is a quality that would benefit everyone. Whining has become trendy, but when you feel sorry for yourself it seems to only effect the ungrateful person feeling it.

  23. William Bertram says:

    While I find this funny. After living here for 8 or so years. I also disagree. I think there are only 3 months out of the year that are unbearable. And would rather have the “dry heat” than the “wet heat” from the summers where I am originally from.

  24. Mic says:

    You really need to rewrite this article, and specify Phoenix! Not al of Arizona is stupid hot, it’s only Phoenix and along the Colorado river. I lived in northwestern AZ where summer time was only in the 90’s and it snowed in the winter.

    • No Arizona says:

      I addressed that in another article. In later articles, I was specific to Phoenix, Tucson, etc. Besides, it’s pretty obvious the northern part of the state don’t have the “heat bubbles”.

  25. John Zimmerman says:

    The humidity is not welcome moisture. Coming from Chicago to Tucson, i will take 110° dry heat over 93° heat with 70% humidity any day. Anything over 80° and 65% humidity is just as unbearable as 110° heat.

    • MaLinda Manis says:

      I absolutely agree! I live in Eastern KS and while I adore snow (which we don’t get nearly enough of) I would live somewhere between Phoenix and Tuscon if I could. Seems like there has always been something holding us back from relocating. I’ve lived here all but 2 years of my life, which was spent in Norfolk/Va Beach, VA while my husband was in the Navy. We lived 4 blocks away from the ocean, so it wasn’t too bad for the most part, definitely got humid, but not as bad as it is in KS

  26. David Trelford says:

    Why is Arizona so hot? Who cares! The real question is how hot is it? Imagine being surrounded by four pizza ovens. You are standing in the middle and a mechanism opens all four doors at once. You are hit with a blast of hot air unlike anything you’ve ever felt before. Just as you are about to scream “good lord, close the doors” you hear your wife say “honey can you lock the front door behind you? You snap back to reality and realize it’s just another day and you are off to work. When its 115 degrees the law of physics no longer applies. And when you open your car door you are almost knocked over by the tremendous heat. A couple years ago I was headed somewhere at 10:30 at night. When I arrived I checked the weather report so I would be ready when I opened the car door. It was 113 degrees with a dew point of 76 degrees and a humidity of about 40 percent. When I opened the door I almost fell to the ground. It was like standing in a shower with the hottest water you can get. the hottest I’ve felt since living on Mercury…I mean Arizona was 118*. And I’ve been through that three times. It’s HOT and the heat makes you stupid. It’s not a figure of speech, Your brain doesn’t work right when you are in those kind of temps. And if you work outside you can only work for brief periods at a time. You can drink all the water you want but it’s not going to help except to prolong the agony longer. I used to live and work outside in Chicago and while I hated -15* and -20* (that’s below zero folks) You can do it if you dress right and take warm up breaks throughout the day. Here even with breaks it doesn’t help. Think of the heat like you would radiation. It’s cumulative. every time you get overheated it adds to the previous episode of being overheated (which happens every half hour if you are in good shape, young, drink plenty of water and are a good actor. Don’t come here unless you are a glutton for punishment and own one of those silver suits they wear to study volcanos.

    • MaLinda Manis says:

      I can’t explain it, but for me there is nothing better than high noon in the desert heat! Sometimes I can close my eyes and take myself there while I’m sitting here in KS dripping sweat from the humidity. Midnight in Phoenix when it’s 100 degrees is absolutely one of the best feelings ever for me. I have people tell me all the time that I’m nuts for being so fanatic over my desire to live there. That’s okay though, maybe I’ve been in that desert heat too long at some point….

  27. janet says:

    I agree 1000%. Coming here from Florida I was wondering where all the grass is but you are right it’s a never-ending pile of dirt and rocks. Even on Craigslist all they do is give rocks away can’t wait to go back home.

  28. M says:

    Whenever possible The best bet is to flee to the higher elevation areas north towards the Grand Canyon where as we all know it snows there a little bit in winter nothing ridiculous like the atrocious northeast of course. Polar climate is nobody’s idea of paradise either, obviously I hate severe cold and snow both make my bones feel like they’re being grinded. I have several fractures all over my body so crushed bones is a first hand experience for me and frigid temperatures are my worst enemy however, 116 degree heat is too much warmth for me or anyone. Anywhere up to 95 tops is about as high as I can stand, but I understand having lived in Chihuahua and New Mexico that the lack of grass/trees makes the heat uncomfortable. Though the latter places are milder/high deserts at much higher elevation around 7,000 ft. Unlike Phoenix and it never gets nearly as hot, but vegetation does help cool the atmosphere.

  29. MaLinda Manis says:

    I absolutely LOVE the desert heat!!!! I was born and raised in Eastern KS for all but 2 years of my life when I lived in Norfolk/Va Beach, VA during my husbands time in the Navy. I can’t explain it when people look at me like I’m nuts. It may not be zero humidity, but I’m positive it isn’t the humidity we have in KS. While I love the desert heat, I love snow as well, so I’m ass backwards from the traditional snow birds that flock to escape the winter. In my perfect world people would not challenge or debate me on whether it’s a “dry heat.” My theory has always been don’t knock it till you try it. That goes for anything really, I will try just about anything once….just seems like there are a lot of narrow minded people in this world.

  30. Eve says:

    Haha oh my goodness! Your explanation of the heat is way too exaggerated! I live in Arizona and while yes it is extremely hot and horrible! When I shower I do get fresh water (not cold) and my car handles have never ever felt hot. The steering wheel it burned my hand once or twice but now I have a cover for it and I don’t have that problem anymore. I can’t tell you of the concrete because I’m not dumb enough to to walk outside without shoes lol but I agree it is way too hot to even do anything outdoors ! I hate it!!! And I can’t wait for “cooler” weather – below 105 is good for me 😉

  31. Bill Greenan says:

    God save us all from the easily led!!!

    Phoenix Temps for the last 30 years
    Hottest month of 1986 was June – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 1987 was June – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 1988 was July – average daily high 107°F
    Hottest month of 1989 was July – average daily high 109°F
    Hottest month of 1990 was June – average daily high 107°F
    Hottest month of 1991 was July – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 1992 was July – average daily high 104°F
    Hottest month of 1993 was July – average daily high 104°F
    Hottest month of 1994 was June – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 1995 was July – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 1996 was July – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 1997 was July – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 1998 was July – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 1999 was August – average daily high 103°F
    Hottest month of 2000 was July – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 2001 was August – average daily high 104°F
    Hottest month of 2002 was June – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 2003 was July – average daily high 108°F
    Hottest month of 2004 was July – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 2005 was July – average daily high 108°F
    Hottest month of 2006 was June – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 2007 was July – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 2008 was June – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 2009 was July – average daily high 108°F
    Hottest month of 2010 was July – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 2011 was August – average daily high 108°F
    Hottest month of 2012 was June – average daily high 105°F
    Hottest month of 2013 was June – average daily high 107°F
    Hottest month of 2014 was July – average daily high 106°F
    Hottest month of 2015 was August – average daily high 107°F


    weatherspark.com/history/31259/2016/Phoenix-Arizona-United-States

  32. Riley Floyd says:

    I didn’t think it was that bad either. I was in Phoenix in June 2015, and despite the fact that it was supposed to get up to 117 while I was there, I actually almost loved the heat. The only two things that I felt were “uncomfortable” were the burning heat on my jeans and, as mentioned in the previous posts, the hot surfaces where you couldn’t walk on barefoot.

    I’m from California originally and moved to the Midwest almost a decade and-a-half ago, and I’d honestly rather be scorching hot in the summer than freezing cold in the winter.

    I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m in love with Phoenix so much, that I’m planning to move there sometime next summer.

    • Tobey Nordstrom says:

      I lived in AZ for 7 years. And Now I’m in the Midwest near Kansas city and it’s horrible here. So cold I want to move back soon!
      The heat is not as bad as this article claims.
      You just have to adjust drink lots of water and find you some palm tree shade. Pop open a Corona and enjoy the best Mexican food on the planet. ….. Oh yeah, if you hate AZ why do you live there? Quit crying about how miserable it is and pack your bags.

  33. Cory says:

    I don’t know which CO services your area but you mentioned not being able to afford below 79 thermostat. If I read right. I was wondering if you’ve checked SRP/APS budget plans? It’s the Equalizer (APS) and Budget Billing (SRP). Both have deals where you pay a set amount each month no matter how much you run your A/C (they review your usage every 3 months and will lower or raise it but believe me; it HELPS). This might provide you some financial relief. Just thought I’d add that.

    I definitely feel your pain with the irritability. Did you know Phoenix is now rated the Angriest City in America in the Summer??? I wonder why….

    I’m a native Phoenician, born and raised here, but am happy to report I finally got a job transfer to BOULDER COLORADO yeaaaaa! I’ll be leaving Phoenix by the end of this year and I cannot WAIT. There are some things I like about my state, a lot I despise about it, but I can say I definitely won’t miss all this terrible-ass heat. My fellow Phoenicians can keep this Satan-like shit. Good luck and hang in there.

    • No Arizona says:

      Good luck, Corey! It’s good to see natives looking over the barren horizon! There is life outside of the desert, and the pastures literally are greener!

  34. Christine Sobotka says:

    Well! I appreciate Honesty!! I need to move for arthritis reasons. I live in Ohio as soon as it hits 80°here and Im doing nothing but standing….I’m Dripping sweat. I’m figuring that I won’t be dripping sweat if there’s no humidity there??? Am I right or just wishing I was right. Because the humidity here is killing me!
    Thanks. Christine

  35. Annabelle says:

    As a literal Native Arizonan, I just stay on the reservation unless I have to go into town for school or shopping, but it still heats up to 100+ out here. Then we just swim in the pumps (the water always comes out cold) of the local farming land. Gotta love irrigation. But after being in the sun for so long, you just get used to it. Some times I’ll look at the thermometer and say, “Damn, that’s hot.” And keep it rollin’, lol.

  36. Christine Sobotka says:

    Thank you 😊. Sealed my decision! I need a dry place for my arthritis. But to live life just as miserable as I already am, for a different reason, no point to move 2,000 miles to be hating my life even more. Much appreciated! Love honest people.

  37. Michael says:


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsYou obviously must not be from here! Arizona is the greatest state in the Union! I love Arizona! It is my home!!

  38. Jeff says:


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jsI don’t have AC in my car and your killing me with your complaing. Thank you for leaving less traffic.

  39. calizonian says:


    https://polldaddy.com/js/rating/rating.jspeople complain about feenix, tuma, tooson, etc, and forget about the california central valley. the daily summer tempertures are the same, 100+, and though the valley is hot and dry and hot and also hot, people dont complain as much as arizonians. i dont get it.

Leave a Reply

