Welcome To The Valley Of The Sun; You Can Check-In Anytime You Like, But Can You Ever Leave?


Come one, come all, just don’t come until the fall! If the sun and heat won’t kill you, then breathing dirt will. As you have heard from the previous posts on this site, Arizona has been dealing with extreme heat and burning fires. It’s like the old saying…kick me while I’m down. Can it get any worse?

Summers here are truly unbearable, and totally illogical. Seriously, why? I mean, the only reason I can think of to live here is if you are a sports figure who is making bazillions of dollars. Then fine, live here, but I’m sure you’ll fly the hell out of here when you’re not playing!

I was walking the other day (before it hit 110 that morning) and I don’t know how I spotted this little guy, but I couldn’t figure out if he was camouflaging or if the heat and sun had just soaked all his color from him?

Arizona grasshopper Yesterday and today the winds have picked up here, and gusts of 30 mph are expected. This is that DRY Arizona heat that you hear so much about. It’s like being in a blizzard of excruciating heat, sun, and dirt! High winds in the desert and scorching temperatures are not a great pair.

BUT thank goodness we have our pools to get into. Just pile on that sunblock, throw a t-shirt over your bathing suit to block as much sun as you possibly can, wear the biggest hat and pair of sunglasses you can find, and you may just enjoy that 90 degree temperature water…R-I-I-I-G-H-T!!

Last week as my husband and I were watching the weather report we were remarking how there are always bright sun balls – it gets so tiresome! But this time one of the ‘low’ temperatures read: 775 degrees. We had to stop and freeze it to get a picture. I wonder if anyone else ever noticed it. We thought it was hysterical. Ironically, the low temps feels that hot at times.

A typical Arizona weather forecast

Yes, Arizona is full of obnoxious weather. About two weeks ago we actually had what was quite similar to a monsoon, but it’s only MAY! It was odd to say the least. As I was driving in the middle of it, this huge strange looking cloud came out of nowhere and burst open. It was a scary sight and I could not believe what I was seeing. I think I rubbed my eyes a couple of times before I decided to take a picture of it with my cell phone. It’s a classic if you ask me. I’m not quite sure I’ve ever seen a cloud like this. But hey…maybe the heat distorts camera lenses too?

Strange clouds seen in Arizona

I really have no excuse for still living here, other than a shortage of $$. I feel like I’m living the lyrics from Hotel California…

You can check-out anytime you like, but you can never leave!

Welcome to Arizona, I just happen to have the perfect home for you to buy!

Sweating hot Arizona love to you!

Mary

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

